World Heritage in the Netherlands

The Kingdom of the Netherlands has thirteen national sites considered so important for humanity that we want to pass them on safely to future generations. These are our UNESCO World Heritage sites.

Thirteen Dutch World Heritage sites

The Dutch UNESCO World Heritage sites tell us something about our country and its place in the world. The Netherlands itself has twelve WH-sites, Curaçao one.

  • The Royal Eise Eisinga Planetarium, Franeker (2023)
  • The Lower German Limes (2021, jointly with Germany)
  • Colonies of Benevolence (2021, jointly with Belgium)
  • The New Dutch Water Line (2021), as an extension to the Defence Line of Amsterdam (1996)
  • The Van Nelle Factory, Rotterdam (2014)
  • The Amsterdam Canal District (2010)
  • The Wadden Sea (2009, jointly with Germany and Denmark)
  • The Rietveld-Schröder House, Utrecht (2000)
  • Beemster Polder, Noord-Holland (1999)
  • The D.F. Wouda Steam Pumping Station, near Lemmer (1998)
  • The Mill Network at Kinderdijk-Elshout (1997)
  • Schokland and Surroundings (1995)
  • Historic Willemstad, Curaçao (1997)

The website offers more information on the Dutch WH-sites.

Role of the Cultural Heritage Agency

The Cultural Heritage Agency of the Netherlands (RCE) implements Dutch government policy related to our World Heritage sites by:

  • coordinating the preparation of nomination files and management plans; cooperating with siteholders;
  • providing public information in conjunction with the Netherlands World Heritage Foundation; 
  • maintaining contacts with UNESCO.