Our Lord in the Attic Museum candidate for European Heritage Label

Amsterdam's Our Lord in the Attic Museum is the Dutch candidate for the European Heritage Label: a recognition granted to heritage sites with a special symbolic value for Europe. The nomination follows positive advice from the Council for Culture to the Ministry of Education, Culture and Science. In the coming months, a European panel of thirteen experts will consider applications from candidates for the Label. The results are expected at the end of this year.

Interior of a church
Image: ©Museum Ons' Lieve Heer op Solder / Rebekka Mell
Interior of the attic church Ons' Lieve Heer op Solder in Amsterdam

Our Lord in the Attic was selected within the theme Tolerance & Law, one of four categories of Dutch preselection for the European Heritage Label. For example, the museum developed Voices of Tolerance, a citizenship programme for vmbo and mbo. The project addresses religious diversity and religious freedom internationally, involving mainly young people between the ages of 14 and 21. If awarded the European Heritage Label, the museum aims to expand this intercultural dialogue between young people on a European level. 

About the European Heritage Label

The European Heritage Label is awarded to heritage sites of special symbolic value for Europe. These sites have played an important role in European history and culture and in European integration. The Label aims to increase mutual understanding between European citizens and to give European citizens, especially young people, a better understanding of today's Europe and its common cultural heritage. In the Netherlands, four sites now bear the European Heritage Label: the Peace Palace, Camp Westerbork, the Maastricht Treaty and the Colonies of Benevolence.

The European Heritage Label is an initiative of the European Commission. The Cultural Heritage Agency is coördinator of the label in the Netherlands. DutchCulture is responsible for communication about the Heritage Label within the Netherlands, and councels nominees.